Editorial Advisory Board

The Skeptic is able to obtain support and direction from an international Editorial Advisory Board comprised of highly respected individuals noted for expertise in their specific fields. The support shown by the individuals below is invaluable and we extend sincere, heartfelt thanks to all of them.

The Editorial Advisory Board members are:

James Alcock
Professor of Psychology, York University, Toronto

Julian Baggini
Writer, broadcaster, philosopher, Editor of The Philosopher’s Magazine

Susan Blackmore
Writer, broadcaster, Visiting Professor of Psychology, University of Plymouth

Jason Braithwaite
Psychologist and neuroscientist, University of Birmingham

Derren Brown
Psychological illusionist, writer and artist

Scott Campbell
Associate Professor and Reader in Philosophy, University of Nottingham

David Clarke
Journalist, author, broadcaster, Senior Lecturer in Journalism, Sheffield Hallam University

David Colquhoun, FRS
Professor of Pharmacology, Honorary Fellow, University College London

Brian Cox
Professor of Particle Physics, University of Manchester

Richard Dawkins, FRS, FRSL
Evolutionary biologist, writer, broadcaster

Sergio Della Sala
Professor of Human Cognitive Neuroscience, University of Edinburgh

Edzard Ernst
Chair in Complementary medicine, University of Exeter

Philip Escoffey
Writer, TV presenter and performer combining interests in the psychology of belief and mentalism

Richard J. Evans
Regius Professor of Modern History, University of Cambridge

Chris French
Professor of Psychology, Goldsmiths, London. Founder of the Anomalistic Psychology Research Unit at Goldsmiths

Stephen Fry
Actor, writer, comedian, author, television presenter

Wendy M. Grossman
Writer, founder of The Skeptic

Dr Evan Harris (former MP for Oxford West & Abingdon)
Liberal Democrat Science Spokesman

Simon Hoggart
Journalist, broadcaster

Bruce Hood
Professor of Psychology, University of Bristol

Deborah Hyde
Former Editor, Folklorist

Ray Hyman
Psychologist, Professor Emeritus, University of Oregon

Robin Ince
Comedian, actor, author

Paul Kurtz
Philosopher, Professor Emeritus, State University of New York, Chairman of the Committee for Skeptical Inquiry

Stephen Law
Philosopher, Editor of the Royal Institute of Philosophy journal, Think

Andy Lewis
Blog writer, www.quackometer.net

Scott Lilienfeld
Professor of Psychology, Emory University

Elizabeth Loftus
Professor of Psychology, Criminology, and Law, University of California, Irvine

Richard McNally
Professor of Psychology, Harvard University

Tim Minchin
Musician, actor, comedian, writer

P Z Myers
Associate Professor of Biology, University of Minnesota, Morris

Mark Newbrook
Linguistics lecturer, researcher and consultant

Charles Paxton
Ecologist, University of St Andrews

Phil Plait
Astronomer, President of the James Randi Educational Foundation

Massimo Polidoro
Co-founder of CICAP, writer, journalist, broadcaster

Benjamin Radford
Writer, investigator, Managing Editor of Skeptical Inquirer

James Randi
Conjuror, author, founder of the James Randi Educational Foundation in Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Ian Rowland
Writer, lecturer and psychological illusionist

Karl Sabbagh
Writer, TV producer

Simon Singh
Writer, broadcaster

Karen Stollznow
Linguist, writer, researcher and investigator

Richard Wiseman
Professor of the Public Understanding of Psychology, University of Hertfordshire, magician, writer

Scroll to Top